Academic Standards

Academic Standards

and Curriculum

What Children Supposed To Learn At Each

Grade Level

I will be describing the importance of academic standards (curriculum) at each grade level. Academic Standards are the decision the state will make whether or not students be learning algebra in ninth grade or 8th grade curriculum.  The curriculum is the subjects along with material they will be learning.  Subject science learning the water cycle the curriculum.  The standardized test is what all the schools give to students to see how well they perform on what was being taught i.e. the water cycle…to them.


What children supposed to learn at each

Grade Level starndard in their grade level curriculum

  • Academic STATE standards is the curriculum; what a child is expected to learn in an academic year: reading, math and other subjects.
  • Academic standards are researched, designed and developed by individual states, not the federal government.
  • INCLUSIVE NO ONE is exempt from these standards.

Do you know what your child is expected to learn this school year and next? Check with your state’s Education  Department website they have academic standards posted for every grade level k-12th.

These are standards students must learn.  Are you wondering how the standards are used to instruct students academically; in the different subjects?

Introduction to state academic standards and how they work.

How Academic Standards Set Learning Expectations academic standards in reading, math, and other subjects. The standards begin in kindergarten and continue through high school until graduation.

For example,  bloom taxonomy strategies are used in first-grade.   The students must be able to retell stories and understand the messages behind the story, Or the teachers will teach them until they get correct

A fourth-grade standard might require students to learn how to multiply a fraction by a whole number.

The goal of academic standards is to make sure all students are taught the necessary skills, the fundamental skills that are needed at every grade level.

Academic Standards vs. Curriculum and Testing

A curriculum is a content; water cycle, the operation of multiplication… that’s taught to help your child meet the standards. The content might be learning to read mary had a little lamb; and standards are able to retell the story, character, plot, setting, how to recognize the different punctuations to emphasize mode and tone.

While the first-grade standard might be to retell a story, the first-grade curriculum might include books like Charlot Web, frog cycle, water etc…

Now, what is academic Standardized Testing? 

Why is the student’s standardized testing gages on how well a school is doing? 

why it’s called report card?

The academic standardized testing demonstrates how well the student and school performance are aligned with the testing materials.

Sometimes people confuse standards with standardized testing. They aren’t the same, though they are related. Standardized testing is when you give the same test to all or many students in a school district to see if they’re meeting the standards.  This a report card for the schools. It helps hold schools accountable for what students are supposed to learn.

How can the schools make sure they know the academic standards.  Schools want a good grade in their report card.  Who sets Standards and Curriculum?

Who Sets the Curriculum and Academic Standards

In the United States, education is considered a state responsibility. States and local communities set academic standards and curriculum. State academic standards can vary widely from state to state.

You can find your state standards on the website for your state’s department of education. Your local school must follow these standards. However, the school may add more requirements and has some say over how standards are taught. (Keep in mind that private schools don’t have to follow state academic standards. If your child is homeschooled, the rules vary by state.)

The federal government doesn’t set academic standards for schools. However, federal laws can influence the standards that states choose. The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires that states have “challenging” academic standards in reading, math, and science. ESSA also requires that state standards prepare students for college and career.

In recent years, many states have decided to adopt a uniform set of academic standards called the Common Core State Standards. Common Core is a state initiative. It doesn’t come from the federal government.

However, even among the states that use Common Core, there can still be big differences in what’s taught in schools. Some states have added new sets of standards for subjects like science and art. Also, Common Core is a set of standardsnot a curriculum. States and local communities still set the curriculum, such as what books kids read in school, or what topics are covered in social studies class.

Academic Standards and Kids With Learning and Attention Issues

Students with learning and attention will not be exempt from academic standards.

Students are expected to meet the standards and learn certain functional and academic skills in each grade according to goals and objective specified in their individualized education program.

Inclusion: the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act requires students with Individualized Education Programs (IEPs) to participate in the general education curriculum. It also requires they get the supports and services assisting them to meet the standards. The U.S. Department of Education has guidance for schools on kids with IEPs and grade-level standards.

The following tips are to help your child to meet their academic standards.  This site gives parents tips on how they can help their children improve their grades.

You can reach out to your child’s teacher for help.. You can request an evaluation.

Or if your child has an IEP, you can look into, how to fine-tune her IEP goals and services.

Learn more about academic skills kids need for grade school, middle school, and high school


Examples: Content Standards FOR CALIFORNIA STATE:

Content standards were designed to encourage the highest achievement of every student, by defining the knowledge, concepts, and skills that students should acquire at each grade level.

The contents standards adopted by the California State Board of Education are listed below: Printed publications can be purchased from CDE Press Educational Resources Catalog.